Showing posts with label $ matters. Show all posts
Showing posts with label $ matters. Show all posts

Tuesday, May 31, 2011

No buy June.

I'm re-instituting no buy month.  I feel like things have just gotten out of control and it's extremely stressful.  I have stacks of books.  My room is still full of boxes.  It's time for some action.

I didn't do January as planned, so June is it.  If I want something (and I want things), I have to wait a whole 30 days to purchase whatever the serious want is.  And right now, I seriously want these wedges.  C'est la vie.

Groceries & necessities are all.  Keep me honest blog friends.

Wednesday, December 15, 2010

January

I've been thinking a lot about January lately.

It seems like December is always a rough month for me and I don't know why.  I always want to end the year with a bang but something (seemingly) disastrous happens and I somehow survive the end of the year and make it to the next.  This year is not that catastrophic, and it will be the month this year where I have a new addition to the family.... but December exhausts me.

And so I've already been considering January and 2011.  I think I want to make 2011 a year of health: Physical health, mental health, financial health.

In January, physical health will be my shoulder surgery and beginning the long process back to full shoulder mobility; mental health will be re-reading "The Happiness Project" by Gretchen Rubin and possibly putting my own happiness project to work... I've already started it but need to implement more; and financial health will be re-implementing "No Buy Month."

For "No Buy Month" I'm not allowed to purchase anything that I don't need.  Since it will be after the holidays, I will allow myself to spend gift cards, but aside from food, bills, puppy products & household necessities, I will not be making any unnecessary purchases with my paycheck.  I realized today that I can have all of my debt paid off in under two years while greatly increasing my retirement accounts if I just get serious about it.  I have a goal to have $100,000 in retirement by the time I'm 30, but at this rate it definitely won't be happening.  I need to stop flaking and purchasing unnecessary items and get my act together!

So there it is... now I have something to look forward to while I finish out the last two weeks of an absolutely miserable month. And hopefully will be getting puppy on Saturday!  Co-worker said he's drinking water and eating solid food, so he's ready to go!!

Monday, May 24, 2010

Thoughts v 2.0

So after all my obsessing over birdcages, I stopped at Garden Ridge this past weekend and found the perfect one for a mere $14 including tax (instead of the $50+ ones I'd been eying!).   Here it is:

It's perfect. :)

In other news, I feel like every time I start to get ahead something gets in the way.  I had finally managed to get a positive net worth... and now I'm back at -$3,000.  I finally appear to be making headway on my retirement savings and student loan repayment... and I get huge setback.  I want to do so much... yet I feel stressed out all the time about money.  Sigh.  I guess this is the real world.

Thursday, February 25, 2010

Dreaming about a new car...

Sometime in the next several years I'm expecting my poor little car to poop out on me. Hopefully it won't, but it's always a possibility. I really need to save up at least a couple thousand dollars before then for a down payment... hopefully it'll be more like 5 years from now, but I'm not holding my breath. I'm also shooting for a good used vehicle so save a lot of extra on car payments.

At any rate, the Ford Fusion Hybrid is what I'm eying right now. I really love my car now, which is a Ford, and this one appears to be doing really well so far!

Saturday, February 13, 2010

2009 Taxes

I did both my US and Canadian tax returns this morning because the LAST people I want to mess with are the IRS and CRA... you know what they say about death and taxes.

The good news here is that I should be receiving a return of over $1,000 between the two. Thank you free tax preparation software. After I file these, I shouldn't have the worry about the CRA for a while and I'm fairly basic as far as the IRS goes, so I will be okay for the next few years. Next up is a massive scanning marathon with all this paperwork.

I'm deciding what to do with the refund. I mostly likely will apply it to my Roth IRA since I did NOT max it out last year... that is so important to me and it stressed me out looking at how small my number is this year. With the financial reshuffle I have coming up I should be able to put more towards it...

Maybe I will also take like $100 and do something fun, like go to SeaWorld. I've lived here close to a year and I haven't been, which is ridiculous because I love aquariums.

Thoughts from my only reader?

Tuesday, January 12, 2010

I picked a topic!

So its been over a week since I decided I needed a topic for 2010... and the winner is:

Mythology/Fantasy!

I want to study various mythologies such as Norse, Greek, Roman, etc as well as their impact on the genre we currently know as fantasy. You know, dragons, mages/wizards, dwarves, vampires, etc, etc. There are some movies coming out and some TV shows I've watched in the past (namely the Valentines which is now sadly cancelled) which fall into the mythology category. It's extremely fascinating.

I'm pretty excited. I think I'll probably start with Wikipedia and go from there... I have a couple of book series to read, such as Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan and I need to finish the Sword of Truth series.

Also, yesterday my retirement accounts officially went over $10,000. That amount of money in savings is such a huge milestone for me and it seems like such a huge step towards my financial goals. I still have my debts (which some schools of thoughts should be dealt with before my retirement funds) but I feel so motivated by knowing I reached a huge milestone in my savings.

Finally, I will leave with one last thought... One of my favorite websites, Tiny Buddha, had today's quote of the day as:

"Judge nothing, you will be happy. Forgive everything, you will be happier. Love everything, you will be happiest." -Sri Chinmoy

So today, I decided another goal for 2010, my new years resolution if you will, is to forgive everything. Holding grudges and anger inside isn't going to solve anything and it certainly won't make me happier. So I'll try my best to practice forgiveness at all times.

Friday, September 18, 2009

Miscellaneous Thoughts on $

I spent most of the day re-reading the archives over at Get Rich Slowly. Over the years since I found the blog, J.D. has put out some really great articles about real life money management... he (and his guest bloggers) have covered pretty much every aspect of retirement planning and budgeting, what to do when you're a saver and your spouse is a spender, how to prepare kids for financial intelligence, and even brings up hard topics about what to do when you're financially smart but your family isn't. The commentors on every single post only further the usefulness and wealth of information.

I have managed to come up with a fairly long list of books on Paperback Swap over the past few weeks... there's something strangely satisfying about anxiously waiting for the books you want, hoping they'll come soon, instead of running out and buying it brand new whenever the whim strikes me.

I need to read every book in my collection and list at least 75% of them. I already feel as though I'm accumulating too much Stuff and would love to practice cutting it down early. Interestingly enough, my danger isn't in clothes and shoes like most people I know, but rather books and garden supplies. Go figure.

Since we're already more than halfway through September (and my no-buy is STILL going strong!), I've started thinking about doing wrap ups in a few months of my financial year and lay out my financial goals for 2010.

(Side note... It occured to me recently that next year is 2010. I thought back to 1999 when Y2K was all the talk at this point. I'm really glad that never happened.)

Are there any big financial goals you'll be working towards this next year?

Monday, September 14, 2009

New 401(k) allocation!

Yay! This is WAY more in line with what it should be... so that is a step in the right direction. Overall, it has been a fairly decent day... just one or two blights on a good day. Another Monday down.

Tuesday, September 8, 2009

So far so good...

with the fact that I've managed not to spend any frivolous money. But bad on the front that I got a speeding ticket yesterday and didn't go to yoga today. Nor did I get any milk for my cereal. Alas, such is life.

One good thing is that I enrolled in my 401(k) today! I researched a couple of the funds who's names jumped out at me and put 100% into one for the time being. That one is Oppenheimer Developing Markets, which Morningstar gave a 5 star rating. Since I consider myself a bold, young investor I'm not too worried for the time being, but will research the additional funds soon so I can be sure I made the correct choice.

In other investment news, my Roth IRA is currently sitting at a gain of $-9.81 net. That might sound crappy that I'm negative, but considering my first buy in was right because the economy started tanking, and the market in general has been going lower and lower, I consider $10 good for my (almost) two years. In fact, in February of this year I was at $-2,546. Market is looking good to me...

As far as match, I'm going to max out my 401(k) employer match (3%) and then put the rest into my Roth IRA like I've been doing. If I manage to max that out, I'll increase my 401(k) contributions. My 401(k) doesn't start until October, so we'll see how maxing contibutions for the match goes for the 3 months left in the year!

Saturday, August 29, 2009

The State of my Roth IRA

The past several years have wreaked havoc on people's retirement accounts as stocks plummeted and recovery is slow. Luckily I have 40 more years before I can retire so my teensy account has plenty of time to recover....

But today, for the heck of it, I checked my Roth IRA. On the right-hand side of the screen capture below, you can see where I have put in exactly $8,150 and my currently value if cashed out today would be $8,080.62 for a return of -69.38. Now, considering the state the economy has been in I consider this great news. Not a 10% return over the past few years, but I have been able to essentially stockpile shares at low, low prices while I waited for the market to recover.

My 401(k) should be beginning soon and I am looking forward to the opportunity to grow my retirement fund. That will be a whole different post when I have to figure out how to allocate funds to both in order to maximize my investments...

How do you manage your retirement funds? Do you have multiple accounts across different types of investments?

Wednesday, August 26, 2009

Month of no frivolous spending


I decided today that September will be the month of no frivolous spending. That means no clothes, makeup, books, iPhone games, iTunes music, notebooks, plants, etc. Things that are on my "can buy" list right now are food, household essentials and gifts (just in case!). Oh, and for books I can just PaperbackSwap them until October. :)

I stopped at HEB on the way home from work and ran across this lovely bouquet of peachy-pink roses and thought "what the hey?" and got them. Just a little something to brighten up my day.

Saturday, August 1, 2009

A tale of two checking accounts


Happy Saturday everyone! After this past month I've decided there has to be a better way to handle my finances between necessity/non-necessity. Currently I've been transferring X amount of money to my savings account and having the rest sit in my no-interest Bank of America checking.

So this past week I decided to open up a second checking with the same bank as my highest interest savings accounts, ING Direct. I did this for 2 reasons: 1) The checking actually earns interest so any money sitting there is getting more than my BOA savings account and 2) I can do same day transfers between my savings/ING checking.

Number 2 is really important to me because I can put money into my savings but transfer to the checking if absolutely necessary.

I also calculated how much I am approximately spending per month on bills... for me this involves rent, cell, energy, water, yoga, student loan repayment, etc.--let's say $1000 for simplicity's sake. Then, I changed my paycheck direct deposit to put in exactly $1000 per month, or $500 per paycheck. That way, I know the bill money will not be confused with the other money.

The rest of the paycheck is deposited into BOA checking and I have that for everything else! Retirement savings, emergency fund, groceries, shopping, etc will all come out of it.

Is there a special way you help manage your finances?

Sunday, May 3, 2009

Buying shares on the stock exchange next week...

I moved into my new apartment this weekend and there isn't much in it, that will be a story for another post as I move in furniture this coming weekend and decorate.... I also bought a plant and received one from my uncle for my new patio, yay!

Today as I was watching TV I saw a commercial for CSX. Now, I've been contemplating buying individual stocks for some time now, but I don't have thousands of dollars to play with. But after having dinnertime conversations with my uncle about stocks and funds he invests in and why, I have thought about what companies I might be interested investing in for the future. I've mentioned before how much I love ING Direct and they have Sharebuilder (which I may or may not love, we will see) which I decided to try out for buying stocks. I'm only doing a small amount of money (maybe enough for 2 or 3 shares so nothing too risky for either loss OR gains) but decided to invest in CSX. It's an international transportation company (with some fantastic advertising). I did some research and since I believe that energy is headed toward more renewable resources and energy efficiency anyway, this would be a good choice.

So I set it up and the purchase should be going through this week! Very exciting. And who knows, maybe I will like individual stocks and add that to my portfolio instead of doing solely mutual funds.

Happy Sunday!

Saturday, December 20, 2008

Dividends!


One of the most exciting things (to me) about owning shares in mutual funds (and therefore stocks) is dividends.  Since I only started my Roth IRA in December 2007, this is my first year to experience them... and it was so exciting to see my shares grow by $250!  I was able to get almost 21 shares at the current prices.  It's not a whole lot, but its nice to wach my investments grow.

Happy 2008 to me!

On another note, tomorrow is the darkest day of the year (woo 8 hrs of sunlight!) AND a storm is supposed to be hitting Vancouver.  It's been really, really cold lately... the lowest was -13 this morning, but hopefully since sunlight will start increasing soon, so will the temperature!

Wednesday, December 10, 2008

Things I love (Part I): Personal finance edition

  • I love the PearBudget online spreadsheet because, through it, I have discovered that I actually live within my means and often have extra money at the end of the month to put other places.  I am able to see where my money goes (okay, I really like to buy clothes) and where I *think* my money goes but it actually doesn't (eating out).

  • I love the Yodlee Moneycenter, because: a) I can track all of money between all my accounts (and when it leaves my accounts), b) I can track my Canadian accounts, and c) I can see my net worth and where my assets/liabilities are and what percentage of my total those are (for instance, my retirement account is currently 75% of my assets).  Well, I love it for more than reasons a, b and c but those are just the ones I want to mention.

  • I love the Get Rich Slowly blog, because not only does blogger JR have great posts and insights about things related to personal finance, he has a great following of thoughtful and learned readers who are able to provide additional insight and information.  The forums are fantastic and people are so willing to help others out.  I love.

Wednesday, November 12, 2008

$$$

It's almost 2 a.m. and I'm awake writing a blog post.  I know I should be sleeping, since I have to be at work at 5:45 a.m. for opening shift, but right now I really don't care.  

I can't remember exactly when, or the reasons why, I became so interested in personal finance.  All I know is that at some point I became extremely interested in finding out information on budgeting, retirment accounts, various methods of saving, reducing spending, etc.   It was hard to make sure everything was running smoothly while I didn't have a full time job between graduation and now.  Today, I do have a full time job but its not a career job and its NOT making me the big bucks... in fact, I'm pretty sure I'm sitting in a really low income bracket if you translate my money to USD.

But thats not the point.  The point is that having a relatively steady monthy paycheck really helps out my budgeting.  Budgeting is something I've always been fascinated with, but in practice have never really grasped.  But I'm trying to make it work...  I've been using PearBudget's online application and finally subscribed now that my free month is up.  So far its been not bad.  I had to figure out how to allot my monthly paychecks and I figure once I get the rest of November down I will figure out a better way to adjust my spending/saving habits.  My biggest problem on this go (all 1.5 months of it) has been what currency I budget in.  Since most of my accounts (all of my savings, student loan, credit cards and BoA checking) are all in USD, I figure that should be my main currency.  However, living and working in Vancouver means that my paycheck, daily expenditures and RBC checking account are all in CAD.  

I've figured the best solution to this problem is to budget in USD... this way, when I say I've spent $40 CAD on my phone bill this month, which, if charged to my credit card, would show up at only $37 USD, I would have $3 extra dollars at the end of the month in my banking account which would immediately be whisked over to savings.  Right now I think this works reasonably well since it is, in a sense, overinflating my costs a bit while forcing me to spend less money, since my budget can't tell the difference.  

In addition to my budget, I opened up a Vanguard Roth IRA last December (which as of today has lost almost 50% in the tanking US economy), created a 6 month living expense emergency fund and opened several other small superflous savings accounts such as car, home and travel which I deposit very small amounts into every month.   In regards to the little savings accounts, I already have almost 200 in one and almost $100 in the other two from depositing a measly $10-20 dollars a month.  It reminds me that even the smallest bit DOES make a difference... I am almost $400 richer this year (disregarding the IRA) than I was last year because of putting aside $50 a month.   If I had put away $100 a month instead, I would now be looking at an extra $800.  I am hoping that the $100 in my "Home" account will grow into a down payment by the time I am ready to buy property.  Clearly I will need to deposit more than $10 a month, but that is a story for another post.

Today I opened up my first CD.  Call it a trial run, but this is my opportunity to check it out before I incorporate CDs into my everyday portfolio. For this CD I mearly took $150 out of my travel fund and rolled it into a 9-month, 3.75% CD.  I will make exactly $4.18 off the CD, which is under $1 more than I would be in my 2.75% savings account (again, darn the tanking US economy!) but, as I mentioned, its a good chance for me to check out how this thing works... how I'm feeling about having my money tied up/losing the liquidity, how I feel when I get it back, experimenting w/ the possibility of dropping/rising interest rates, etc.

I know its a bit early for me to be making any goals for 2009, but I've decided to get a head start on the new year.  Fow now, I only have 4, and some are pretty abstract:

1) Increase my emergency fund back up to 6 months of living expenses
2) Max out my Roth IRA contribution
3) Increase my monthly student loan repayments
4) Increase my net worth
5) Learn patience!

I am sure these will change and become more concrete over the next month and a half until 2009, but I think it gives me a pretty good head start.  By increasing my student loan repayments, I can cut 5 years off my loan, saving myself THOUSANDS of dollars!  And my student loans aren't even that high!  Its amazing what your money (even not making much) can do with a little persistence and patience! My debt won't disappear and my net worth won't increase overnight... its something I'm going to have to keep working at for years and years.  One of my favorite personal finance blogs, Get Rich Slowly, had a great article up on Oct. 16 that gave 10 unconventional money saving tips.  #10 is to "Focus on getting over the $100,000 hump."  That is what 2009 will be about.  Obviously, I won't be reaching that hump, but it'll be my focus.  

I guess my primary focus should be paying off my debts, because as low as the student loan is, it is still more than my current savings interest rates are...  However, maxing out my IRA contribution should (and will be) paramount.